It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-07-2009   #1 (permalink)
wrath186

Default Hello and Help

Hello, I'm not new to cats, but this is my first time taking care of a cat. I've recently rescued a female mix named Oatmeal. She's medium haired and seems to be adjusting very well to my apartment.

That said we do have some issues to iron out. First and foremost is her urinating in a corner of my living room. She has a litter box, which she uses regularly, and I don't believe that she has a UTI, but I'll have the vet check for sure. She just seems to like to mark this spot. I clean it up and use and enzyme cleaner on it, but still she returns. Any reason why she would do this? What can I do to get her to stop?

Second, because she's a kitten she chews on everything. I've put as many cords out of her way as possible, but because I live in a church, putting some things out of reach is just impossible. I've given her a few chew toys, but she still loves the cords. Is there anything that I can do to make them less attractive for her?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Sponsored Cat Content
Unread 07-07-2009   #2 (permalink)
Supreme Cat Lover!

Irene Jims is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrath186 View Post
Hello, I'm not new to cats, but this is my first time taking care of a cat. I've recently rescued a female mix named Oatmeal. She's medium haired and seems to be adjusting very well to my apartment.