It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-09-2009   #1 (permalink)
Newborn

McAwesome is on a distinguished road
Wink New Kitten Is Really Clingy!

Hi guys and gals! This is my first post here (:

I've had cats and kittens all my life (that would be about 19 years worth of meows!) and have taken in many strays and injured cats as well as had pedigrees. However, this is my first time owning a very young adopted stray kitten in an apartment, all by myself.

I'm a student so I have to go away during the day and leave at random times of the night for school and other things that college students do... But my 7 week old kitten is SO clingy! Even when I am at home, at least 7 hours a day, she insists on being with me and not only that, ON me! I have to do a lot of work on the computer and she walks all over me and my laptop. I bought her loads of toys to keep her entertained, quality interactive toys she can play alone or with me, but she wants to be sitting on me all the time.

I hope I don't sound heartless, because I really do love cats and ALL other animals. I have turned my little two-bedroom apartment into an animal sanctuary for my 3 mice and one female sugar glider. However I need to know, will she become more independent over time? I would really appreciate a chilled-out cat, because one stray my family took in before remained annoyingly clingy throughout her life. She was adorable and I loved her lots, but she needed me so much because the other cats made her feel bad (they were mom's evil trio of proud pedigrees that despised other animals, including myself! One of them would even chase me around the house!) and when I moved out, she ran away ):