It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-22-2012   #1 (permalink)
Newborn

catmac is on a distinguished road
Default constant whining

some background

I'm fairly new to being a cat guardian—my bf moved in a few years ago with his 16yo cat who had health problems. It took time, but the two of us became the best of pals. When she had to be put to sleep, we decided to rescue two (a younger and a senior) and give them a great home. Unfortunately, the older had undiagnosed health problems and after only a year, had to also be put to sleep—we were crushed. After some time (about 2 months ago), we decided to rescue two more older cats. We now have Sammy (almost 3), Eddie (about 5), and Cagney (about 9)—all males, all have claws, all various shorthairs.

We only have two issues that we're trying to work with—one is that they are all comfortable with each other EXCEPT these seemingly random moments when all hell breaks loose. We're monitoring, documenting, trying to find patterns... This one is workable.

The problem that I'm having is that the 9yo whines constantly... I don't mean meowing, it's these long whiny cries that are like fingernails on a chalkboard (can't be ignored). The only thing that quiets him down is is physical contact.

I work at home, and there is REALLY no way for me to work and have him on my lap at the same time. I've made bedding for all three of the cats on my desk and the other two cats will just be content to hang out and nap off to the side of my computer, but Cagney MUST be touching me or the cries start in.

behavioral notes:
- we believe he was abused (if you go to pet him, he backs up quickly like he's anticipating being hit)
- he's been to the vet twice (early kidney disease, missing teeth)