It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-14-2008   #1 (permalink)
PnyKlr

Default Need advice for a cat in bad shape!

Warning: Long Post!

I am a middle school teacher in Northern Illinois who happened upon a small cat in our school parking lot. I couldn't let anything stay out in the weather we're having right now (snow, snow, and more snow!) so I scooped her up and took her to the local vet's office after work.

What I do know: I have a VERY skinny 3-legged cat (born with 1 hind leg), that was dirty (she has been bathed), yeast infection in her ears (taking an anti-fungal), a claw ripped off (front leg, I have antibiotics), is spayed (common in the "barn cats" found in the area, farmers get cats neutered on the cheap), and has tested positive for FIV (feline immunodeficiency Virus).

What I don't know: The age of this cat or the progression of the FIV disease.

She is a very lovable cat, but is walking with a slight limp due to the recent loss of the claw. She doesn't move around much because the limping leg is on the same side as the missing leg. She only weighs 4 1/2 pounds, and I can feel every bone in her body (her head looks HUGE compared to her body).

I had her vaccinated with "the usual" while I was at the clinic. Doc told me she was in good shape, other than the weight and FIV. I am looking for any advice on her transition to living indoors (I think she's enjoying the warmth) and putting weight on her safely.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Sponsored Cat Content
Unread 12-14-2008   #2 (permalink)
Supreme Cat Lover!

My Mood: Fine
krzekmaya is on a distinguished road
Talking

Hi & welcome!

I'm Maya, the mum of 6 spoilt furkids you can see in my gallery.

Poor kittie, you did the correct thing you rescued her, well done!