It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-17-2008   #1 (permalink)
friarted

Default Concerns about bony spine & hair-loss

My LD friend is concerned about her cat but is not on the Net, so I'm posting this for her. I'll try to answer Qs as best I can & if I can't I'll check with her-

My 5 y/o cat seems healthy, but I've noticed that his spine seems very bony and prominent. I have a lot of experience with cats and I've never seen a cat with such a pronounced spine. He weighs ten to twelve pounds and is fat, so it seems strange that his spine should protrude so much. I've worked with cats that were severely underweight and starving and they didn't seem to have a spine like this. He also has been losing fur on his back. It started falling out in small patches but now it's an area as big as my hand. I thought it might be excess shedding because it falls out very easily, but the color and structure of his hair is changing in these areas. Instead of being black, I am now noticing a lot of white bristly whisker-like hairs that I've never noticed before. He doesn't have these stiff bristly dead-looking hairs anywhere else. I've shaved his back and checked him carefully for mites but have found nothing. He seems to be losing flexibility and I don't notice him taking full-body stretches anymore. His back cricks and creaks when he moves in certain ways.

Over the years, he has also been subject to strange fits where he hisses and growls and becomes terrified for no apparent reason. We attributed this to a kind of epilepsy or maybe trauma from before I found him. (He walked into my house one day & made himself at home.) This has sometimes seemed to improve with medication and even a teeth-cleaning. But it still occurs occasionally.