It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-23-2009   #1 (permalink)
Newborn

RaullyRal is on a distinguished road
Question Brushing and Nail Clipping

I'm a new cat owner. I'm still new to being a cat owner. Anyone have good tips for doing teeth brushing and how often. I have the pedi paws finger brush.

Also anyone have a really good method for nail clipping. One of my challenges is my cat doesn't like to stay still in my lap too much. He's more of a sit next to you close rather then in your lap. Should I just muscle him in and do the job or what do you think?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Sponsored Cat Content
Unread 02-23-2009   #2 (permalink)
Supreme Cat Lover!

My Mood: Cheerful
acerlt is on a distinguished road

Respect his wish to not be held, but do pick him up and put him on your lap once a day, just for a minute or two so he gets used to it, and can see that nothing bad is going to happen when you hold him.

The first thing to do is to get him used to being handled. Once or twice a day sit next to him and gently rub your finger against the side of his mouth, lifting the lip and making contact with the teeth

One he's used to that, start using the brush the same way. If you just kind of incorporate it into a lovey session, he will get used to it in a gradual way and not feel threatened.

Same concept with nail trims. Start by just getting him used to having his paws handled. hold a paw between thumb and fingers and gently press to extend the claws. Give a treat every time he allows you to do this. Do it every day, and gradually make a routine out of it. At a certain time each day he has to allow you to hold him for a second and either have his face/teeth rubbed, or paws touched. give a treat after.