It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-08-2009   #1 (permalink)
Dannielle

Question She looks a little skinny?

I am pretty new to life with a cat. We adopted a cblue mitted ragdoll at christmas and have fallen in love with her. When she came to live with us she had had her last litter 4 months earlier and still appeared very skinny. I was fine with this BUT i feel she is still too skinny ( we have had her spayed ) She was eating Iams dry food and appareantly this contains all the goodness she needs. But i want to fatten her up alittle , and i am currently adding some wet food as well. She would roughly weigh around 2.5kg and she is 4yrs old.

Any advice on how to "plump" her up , to a decent weight? Any advice is wanted.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Sponsored Cat Content
Unread 03-09-2009   #2 (permalink)
Supreme Cat Lover!

My Mood: Cheerful
acerlt is on a distinguished road

Welcome to the forum, and to the joys of living with a cat!

What's her name?

What does your vet think about her weight? You might want to have her tested for diabetes. And parasites. (bring in a stool sample) An all around check up is a good idea, and if the vet thinks it necessary, get blood work, and urine sample.

Being in the USA still using pounds and ounces can you translate 2.4 kg please.

If a check up shows all normal I have other suggestions:

Are you free feeding? If so I recommend, in addition to adding the canned food portions daily, (good idea) you go to scheduled feeding times.

Premeasure, or keep track of her daily quota, so you know how much she is eating to maintain her current weight, then try to slip in a little more, accordingly.