It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-10-2010   #1 (permalink)
Newborn

Caribbean Cat is on a distinguished road
Default Need advice for a newborn kitten rescued on Friday!

Hi,

Last Friday I rescued a newborn kitten (no eyes, no ears) and I started to feed her using a homemade formula the vet recommended: 8 oz evaporated milk, 1 tsp maple syrup, 1 yolk, 4 oz water.

Everything went good, I have a lot of experience as a dog breeder, so my kitten were happy, growing and purred every time I fed her.

Yesterday morning I added to my formula 2 drops of multivitamin syrup for children and I noticed she stopped pooing. I added 2 drops of corn oil to formula, but the kitten became more and more bloated, very agitated and cried a lot.
She also stopped eating that good and this morning I found her cold and wet, almost inert, sleeping into a big peepee pool.
I reheated the kitten and I went to the vet, who said my kitten was very constipated and sent me home with few sachets of Dioralyte because she was also a little bit dehydrated.
All the morning I gave her only Dioralyte and warm water and finally she pooed two times.

Because I saw everything was under control, I started to mix Dioralyte with my formula, but I also added a little bit of Pro Biolac powder that I bought today.

But now, at the last meal, she became very agitated, I could barely hold her because she was twisting all the time and she cried a lot. She hardly felt asleep and I don't know what to do. What could be the reason why she's so agitated, though she ate quite good?

And why she keeps peeing on herself, although she is only few days old? Is it normal?

She seems not to like Pro Biolac at all and this is another question. What should I do, just switch on Pro Biolac and force her to eat it or gradually introduce the new formula?
Could Pro Biolac produce stomach ache?