It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-03-2011   #1 (permalink)
Supreme Cat Lover!

My Mood: Amused
hallan is on a distinguished road
Default Unanswered: Older Cats - Your Advice Please!

My beautiful Ripley will be 7 this year. To her horror she has seen cats of this age classed as 'senior cats'. She has been with me since she was around 8 weeks old, her official birthday is in May so her actual date of birth is mid March. As Ripley is my first cat I have no experience of looking after cats as they grow older so we were both hoping that people here could give me some advice on what I need to be on the look out for healthwise and any tips you may have for keeping her in the best health possible.
She is an indoor cat, her diet is mainly wet food and she has no health issues. She is bright, sprightly, playful and inquisitive and I'd like her to stay that way so all advice will be gratefully received.
I'd also like to hear your thoughts on 'Senior' cat food. Ripley is very good at regulating her own food intake so her weight isn't an issue. Is it worth spending extra on a senior formula? Are there any supplements that are good for keeping her joints healthy?
As I said she currently has no health problems and she says she is in her prime but we both need to know how to make sure it stays this way!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Sponsored Cat Content
Unread 01-03-2011   #2 (permalink)
Supreme Cat Lover!

My Mood: Cheerful
acerlt is on a distinguished road
Provided Answers: 18

Hi Helen! Tolly is 12, and he is my fifth senior cat, all except Sissy raised from kittens, like you and Ripley.

Baby and Sissy were 16 and 21 respectively and I lost them within a week of each other, to acute kidney failure (both) brought on by terrible stress which I won't go into now.