It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-08-2009   #1 (permalink)
ron_cat_dude

Default Rabies Vaccinations

I have been feeding three homeless kitties for the past 4 years. I caught one of them when I first started and had him neutered and vaccinated, he was about 6 months old at the time. Two females came along, a mother and daughter about 3 years ago. I caught them and had them spayed and vaccinated. I have had the little guy vaccinated every year since then, he was relatively tame and easy to work with. The two girls have not been vaccinated since, they are not as tame and I was afraid I would scare them off trying to catch them again.

It is time to get him vaccinated again, but I will not be able to do it this year because I have a couple of cancerous areas in my back that are very painful and it has even become difficult to feed them.

I have found information on the net about oral rabies vaccine which can be fed to animals instead of an inoculation.

Does anyone know anything about this vaccination? I would sure like to vaccinate all 3 of them if it could be that simple.

THANKS!!!!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Sponsored Cat Content
Unread 01-08-2009   #2 (permalink)
KittyCity

Quote:
Originally Posted by ron_cat_dude View Post

Does anyone know anything about this vaccination? I would sure like to vaccinate all 3 of them if it could be that simple.
An oral vaccine? I doubt that. Rabies vaccines are only legally administered by a licensed vet. If its an oral vaccine- you'd still have to get them to a vet, or get a vet that will come to your house.

I work in a clinic, and have heard NOTHING about an oral vaccine.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Unread 01-08-2009   #3 (permalink)
Supreme Cat Lover!

My Mood: Cheerful