It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-06-2010   #1 (permalink)
Dez
Newborn

My Mood: Stressed
Dez is on a distinguished road
Default Neighbors dogs attacking cats, what can I do?

Hi, I’m really new to all this, so forgive me if I’m not that great at the whole forum thing. I come from a really small town where computers where sort of unheard of and the internet was even more so. I’ve posted this on a couple other forums because I really need advice. I started taking care of strays and feral cats around five years ago when this wild cat now named Hendrix showed up on our door step half starved. We had two indoor cats at the time so I just took him some food and water, he really didn’t want anything to do with me, but ate the food nevertheless. That was five years ago, now I roughly have 24 give or take, and Hendrix is no longer wild but actually a very sweet cat. And a lot of them are. Some are feral, some wild, others, loving little kitties. Here in lies the problem. My husband and I live in the city of Rockwood, and none of my neighbors keep their dogs on a leash. I have had to tranquilize a few of the cats to get them to a vet for treatment after my neighbor’s dogs have attacked them. My neighbors will not listen to me about their dogs, and even though they are just Chiwawa’s they can do some damage let me tell you. One cat I named Teddy, he had a flap of skin hanging off on his front right leg where one got a hold of him even with stitches and antibiotics it still got badly infected. After that my husband and I built a fenced in 20” X 24” deck for the cat’s safety. So they can eat, and stay out of the hot sun. They even have a misting fan and umbrellas out there for them. I have four indoor cats now and the idea of them being hurt like that. Well it scares me quite frankly. These outdoor cats just got a raw deal in life. But I do the best we can,