It appears you have not yet registered with the CAT Forums. To register please click here...

Featured Photos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-11-2013   #1 (permalink)
Newborn

Lily'sMom is on a distinguished road
Default Feral Cat Never Domesticated. Need Advice

Hi, I'm a newbie here and I've decided it's high time I seek some advice.

Thirteen years ago, I trapped, spayed and adopted two feral cats, a mother and a daughter. Through the years, the mother became somewhat domesticated and greeted me in the morning, took food from my hand, occasionally allowed me to touch her and knew I was helping her when she was sick.

Her daughter, Lily (thus my name), never domesticated in the slightest. She would never eat while I was in the house. She would, however, lay on my couch, in my living room, while I was in my den or another room, as long as her mom was on the couch with her. Sometimes in the wee hours of the morning, I would hear her talking with her mom and there is a possibility she played with toys, as long as her mom played with her.

At the end of February, her mom got sick with Lymphoma and we lost her. I had hoped, at that time, that Lily might start socializing with one of my other cats, but she doesn't like the male cats and the females don't interact with her either.

Now she hardly comes out from under the bed or couch and I have to feed her under my bed. I give her treats that way too. Instead of progressing, she seems to be regressing.

In all honesty, it breaks my heart...even though the other day she just about spit at me. After 13 years I don't know how to make her understand I would never harm her.

I can't go near her and unless she was deathly ill, I probably couldn't get her to a vet.

Is there anyone who has even a remote possible answer as to how I might go about getting her to trust me?

She's so alone without her mom and I feel helpless. Thank you.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!